Joy

Sometimes life is so beautiful that it hurts. A throbbing, pulsing love at times so shrouds my spirit that the joy is overwhelming. It is then that I can no longer express my joy in anything but tears. Words, music, sight, dark and light fade away and I am truly silent, weeping with sheer joy.

Because sometimes the heartbreak, the loneliness, the worthlessness, the confusion, and the utter hopelessness that at times threatens to drown me disappears, eclipsed by a glorious revelation — I am loved, I have always been loved, and I will continue to be loved, passionately, forever and ever. 

All my life I’ve had the Truth drilled into me, imprinted on my every thought, whether conscious or unconscious. I know the Truth, deep inside, but I so often forget. I forget that Someone gave his life for me. I forget that I am unconditionally loved, and that neither angels nor demons, nor principalities, nor the present nor the future, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation can separate me from God’s love for me!

I have forgotten before, and like as not I will forget again. But why think of sadness when you are drowning in the waves of God’s love and mercy? Why think of the falleness of the world when you can love, and dream, and hope, and inspire others to love and glory in the life we have?

Leave a Reply

